InsureShip Shipping Insurance
What it covers, what it excludes, and how claims pay. Quoted from the wording.
Wording reviewed October 2026 · 11 sources
Quick answer
InsureShip is a licensed insurance agency, not the insurer; its terms say cover is underwritten by Navigators, a Hartford company, and that the policy or certificate alone decides coverage. The certificate it publishes covers loss, damage and theft in transit, excludes laptops, phones, TVs, precious stones and metals and fine art, and requires claims within 90 days of shipment. It states no maximum value and has no porch-theft clause, though loss found within 15 days of delivery is treated as possibly in transit; marketing pages mention porch piracy cover up to $5,000.
- Wording you can read Partner terms only; policy not public
- Who carries the risk Insurer not named in the wording
- Porch theft Not stated in the wording
- High-value goods Excluded unless added in writing
- Pays without the carrier Not stated in the wording
- Claim rules Deadlines stated, payment time not
At a glance
- Sold by
- InsureShip (Online Shipping Insurance Services, Inc.) sells it directly to merchants and through store checkouts and apps such as Shopify and WooCommerce. InsureShip pays qualifying merchants for advertising space at checkout.
- Claims handled by
- Online Shipping Insurance Services, Inc. (InsureShip.com), Los Angeles, CA, License #0G55434
- Risk carried by
- "Navigators, a Hartford company" (exact legal entity not named) (Insurer not named in the wording)
- Max per parcel
- Not stated in the certificate (marketing pages say up to $5,000 per shipment)
- Relationship to carrier
- Not clear from the wording
- Wording available
- Partner terms only
The certificate lists "Navigators Insurance Group" as underwriter, which our review says is not a legal entity. The Hartford lists both Navigators Insurance Company (authorized in all states) and Navigators Specialty Insurance Company (authorized in NY only), so our review could not confirm which one carries this risk or whether it is admitted or surplus lines.
“InsureShip is a licensed insurance agency . It is not the insurer. Coverage is underwritten by Navigators, a Hartford company.”
Does InsureShip cover porch theft?
The certificate covers shipments in transit and has no porch-theft clause. Loss or damage discovered up to 15 days after final delivery is treated as possibly having happened in transit. Marketing pages advertise porch-piracy cover, but InsureShip's terms say marketing doesn't change the policy.
“Discovery of loss or damage occurring 16 days or later after final delivery is deemed to have occurred while the shipment was NOT in transit, and therefore, is not covered.”
Jewelry, watches, laptops, and phones
Laptops, mobile phones, TVs, computer chips, precious stones and metals, and fine art are on one excluded list, all unless endorsed in writing. Jewelry and watches are not named.
“laptop computers, computer chips and similar memory devices, televisions and mobile phones, unless endorsed in writing.”
What it excludes
Laptops, phones, TVs, chips and memory devices (unless endorsed)
“laptop computers, computer chips and similar memory devices, televisions and mobile phones, unless endorsed in writing.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Policy Exclusions Fine art, precious stones and metals, fresh food, flowers, live animals, cash and securities, personal goods
“Flowers, plants, fine art, cotton, fresh foods, live animals, precious stones and metals, currency, cigarettes, eggs, specie, securities and other negotiable papers, bulk products, personal goods,”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Policy Exclusions Poor packaging or packaging that breaks carrier rules
“is addressed, wrapped or packed insufficiently, incorrectly or contrary to the packaging requirements of the carrier being used by the insured”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Policy Exclusions Labels or packaging that describe the contents
“(b) bears a descriptive label or packaging describing the nature of the parcel's contents.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Policy Exclusions Delay, inherent vice, temperature changes and consequential loss
“Resulting from inherent vice, decay, clean up costs, loss of market, loss of use, latent defect, delay, changes in temperature or humidity, or other deterioration, any remote or consequential loss”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Policy Exclusions Delivery to someone who obtained the item by fraud
“Arising out of loss from delivering the product to someone who obtains it by trick, false pretense, or other fraudulent schemes.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Policy Exclusions Listed and OFAC-sanctioned countries
“Excluded countries: Afghanistan, Angola, Bolivia, Burma, Iran, Iraq, Congo, Ivory Coast, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Nigeria, North Korea, Paraguay, Somalia, Syria, Zimbabwe, Russia, Ukraine,”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Policy Exclusions Handling and insurance fees
“Coverage does not include handling fees and insurance fees.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Conditions
How and when claims pay
The current certificate has no excess or carrier-claim-first clause; it says you are responsible for (and entitled to) collecting whatever the carrier owes, and a per-parcel deductible may apply.
“The insured is responsible for (and entitled to) collecting any amount for which the carrier may be liable.”
Deadlines
File all claims within 90 days of shipment.
“All claims must be filed within 90 days of shipment to be honored.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Conditions For non-delivery, wait 20 days (domestic) or 30 days (international) before filing.
“The insured must wait 20 days for domestic, 30 days for international shipments, to file for non-delivery claims.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Conditions Report damage to InsureShip immediately; damage found up to 15 days after final delivery can still count as in transit.
“If damaged, the insured will file a notice of damage with Online Shipping Insurance Services immediately.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Claims Provide any requested documents within one year of the ship date.
“The insured will have one (1) year from the date of the shipment to furnish any required and/or additional documentation”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Conditions Keep damaged items until the claim is fully resolved, or it will be denied.
“Failure to hold the damaged property until the claim is fully resolved will result in the claim's being denied.”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Conditions A lawsuit must start within 12 months after you discover the problem.
“unless the respective action is commenced within twelve (12) months after discovery by the insured of the issue giving rise to the claim”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · 4. Conditions
Payment time
The certificate says only "promptly" after documents are received and accepted. The homepage says "All claims paid within 5-7 business days"; a 2015 claim form said 7-10 business days. Neither marketing figure is in the certificate.
“Any covered loss will be promptly paid to the insured or their assignee”
What changed recently
2026-10-11 InsureShip rewrote its Terms & Conditions: it now states it is an agency, not the insurer, that the policy or certificate controls coverage, and reproduces the certificate unchanged. A shipment stays under the policy in force when it was insured.
“Effective date: October 11, 2026”
Terms & Conditions – InsureShip · Header 2026-10-10 New refund policy: full refund any time before the merchant ships; after shipment the premium is non-refundable.
“You can cancel shipping insurance for a full refund any time before the merchant ships your order.”
InsureShip Refund Policy · InsureShip Refund Policy, Summary
What we couldn't confirm
- The master policy (number, named insured, issuing company, form numbers) and any endorsements are not public; InsureShip says program documents can be requested during onboarding.
- The certificate states no maximum value, deductible amount or rate.
- Merchants with a separate written agreement are bound by it; those agreements are not held.
- Porch piracy and the $5,000 limit appear only on marketing pages. The certificate states no limit and no theft-after-delivery cover, and InsureShip's terms say marketing does not change the policy (our edition comparison: certificate governs).
- The current certificate has no full insuring clause or valuation rule; it says the purchase "has been insured for loss, damage and theft by Online Shipping Insurance Services", which is the agency. Older editions and the Webgility copy paid invoice value.
- Waiting periods differ by edition: 20/30 days in the current certificate versus 30/45 days in the undated Webgility white-label copy. Our review could not establish which governs for Webgility users.
- The certificate's suit-time clause ends "In that case any such claim shall be void", while Terms §17.1 says a claim is not void for that reason. Our review found the certificate text controls under the terms' own precedence rule; this is unresolved in practice.
- The certificate's "Navigators Insurance Group" address (32nd floor) differs from The Hartford's listing (50th floor). The issuing Navigators entity is not named.
- The FAQ says shipments with proper customs declarations are not excluded and that cover is worldwide; the certificate has a descriptive-label exclusion and an excluded-country list. The certificate governs.
- Coverage may be temporarily unavailable in a state while a license renewal is under review.
Frequently asked questions
Does InsureShip cover porch theft?
The certificate has no porch-theft clause; it covers loss in transit, and loss discovered up to 15 days after final delivery is treated as possibly in transit. Marketing pages advertise porch-piracy cover, but InsureShip's terms say the policy decides.
Who is the insurer behind InsureShip?
InsureShip says it is a licensed agency and that cover is underwritten by Navigators, a Hartford company. The certificate names "Navigators Insurance Group" and does not identify the exact legal entity.
Does InsureShip cover laptops, phones or jewelry?
Laptops, mobile phones, TVs and memory devices are excluded unless endorsed in writing. Precious stones and metals and fine art are also excluded unless endorsed in writing. Jewelry is not named separately.
How long do I have to file an InsureShip claim?
Within 90 days of shipment. For non-delivery you must wait 20 days (domestic) or 30 days (international) before filing. Damage should be reported immediately.
What is the maximum InsureShip will pay?
The certificate does not state a maximum. InsureShip marketing pages say up to $5,000 per shipment.
Can I cancel InsureShip and get a refund?
Yes, for a full refund any time before the merchant ships. Once the order ships, the premium is fully earned and not refundable.
Sources
- Terms & Conditions – InsureShip certificate · Effective October 11, 2026
- InsureShip Legal Notice partner_terms · Effective October 11, 2026
- InsureShip Refund Policy partner_terms · Effective October 10, 2026
- The Hartford Legal Notice (insurer authorization disclosures) help · As of December 31, 2025
- Shipping Insurance & Porch Pirate Protection | InsureShip marketing · Retrieved 2026-10-31
- Shipping Insurance Integrations | InsureShip marketing · Updated October 2026
- InsureShip Shopify integration marketing · Not established; retrieved 2026-10-31
- InsureShip WooCommerce integration marketing · Not established; retrieved 2026-10-31
- InsureShip shipping insurance FAQ help · Not established; retrieved 2026-10-31
- Webgility Shipping Insurance Coverage (InsureShip white-label terms) certificate · Undated (pre-~2017 address); live 2026
- InsureShip Claim Form (2015) help · Wayback 2015-02-13
Insurrl doesn't sell insurance and isn't paid by any insurer. This page summarizes published wording; your own certificate, schedule, or account terms can change the result.