Pirate Ship Shipping Insurance (InsureShield)

What it covers, what it excludes, and how claims pay. Quoted from the wording.

Wording reviewed October 2026 · 3 sources

Quick answer

Pirate Ship sells optional third-party insurance through InsureShield (UPSCIA) at $1.00 per $100 of declared value. It covers physical loss or damage in transit, up to $10,000 per UPS shipment and $5,000 per USPS shipment, with lower limits for some international services. Buying it cancels the carrier's built-in coverage on that label. You are a loss payee, not an insured, and the insurer is not named.

Insurrl score

3.0/5

How we score
  • Wording you can read Partner terms only; policy not public
  • Who carries the risk Insurer not named in the wording
  • Porch theft Not stated in the wording
  • High-value goods Covered on standard terms
  • Pays without the carrier Not stated in the wording
  • Claim rules Deadlines stated, payment time not

At a glance

Sold by
Pirate Ship, as an optional add-on when you buy a label ('Insurance' checkbox and 'Declared Package Value').
Claims handled by
UPSCIA / UPS Capital (InsureShield): claims are filed in the InsureShield Claims Portal.
Risk carried by
Insurer not named in the wording
Max per parcel
$10,000 per UPS shipment; $5,000 per USPS shipment ($2,500 international per Pirate Ship help; $400 for First Class Package International and Simple Export Rate 4 lb and under)
Published price
$1.00 per $100 of declared value (domestic and international), charged in $100 increments
Pays out on
Declared value. New goods: invoice cost plus freight. Used or refurbished goods: actual cash value plus freight. Payment is the lesser of verified value or the declared amount, and underinsuring triggers a proportional (co-insurance) cut. Pirate Ship's help says the label cost is reimbursed on top.
Relationship to carrier
Not clear from the wording
Wording available
Partner terms only

The terms say the policies are underwritten by an unnamed 'authorized insurance company' and issued to the Channel Partner or UPS Capital Corporation. You are neither an insured nor an additional insured; claim money may reach you as a loss payee. You can ask Pirate Ship or UPSCIA for a copy of the policies.

“All Policies for the Program are underwritten by an authorized insurance company (Insurer) and provided by UPSCIA.”
Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.5 Policy Details

Does Pirate Ship cover porch theft?

Pirate Ship's help pages say InsureShield covers porch theft and give a 90-day filing window. The InsureShield terms say protection ends on delivery and do not mention porch theft, and the policy itself is not public.

“InsureShield protects you from anything that can happen, including damaged shipments and porch theft.”
Pirate Ship insurance overview: primary webpage text capture · Pro Pirate Tip

Jewelry, watches, laptops, and phones

Jewelry items are not excluded, but loose precious stones are. The terms have no electronics-specific rule and no signature requirement. Normal carrier/service limits apply, and the policies may set different terms by commodity type.

“precious stones (e.g. a bag of loose diamonds or individual rubies, sapphires, etc; jewelry items are not excluded from coverage).”
Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · Excluded Goods and Shipments

What it excludes

  • Cash, currency, bullion, stamps, securities and other negotiables; loose precious stones (collectible coins with no currency value and jewelry are not excluded)

    “bullion; stamps; cash; currency; money; coins (collectible coins with no currency value are not excluded from coverage); deeds; notes; securities; bills; evidence of debt; and precious stones”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · Excluded Goods and Shipments
  • Contraband, fireworks and explosives, live plants and animals, human remains

    “Contraband; illicit goods; accounts receivable; fish meal; nuclear fuel and substances; fireworks, explosive agents, fire-starting devices or aids; live plants, animals and insects, human tissues or organs, human remains, corpses or body parts;”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · Excluded Goods and Shipments
  • Delay, temperature change and inherent vice

    “delay, whether or not caused by an insured peril;”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.12.3 item 3
  • Cosmetic or electrical/mechanical damage to used goods

    “rust, oxidation, discoloration, scratching, marring, denting, chipping and/or electrical or mechanical derangement to used goods, whether or not caused by a covered peril;”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.12.3 item 12
  • Poor packing by you, the shipper or consignee

    “improper, inadequate or otherwise unsuitable packing or preparation of the cargo, provided this exclusion will not apply to the extent that: (i) such packing or preparation was carried out by a third party”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.12.3 item 14
  • Fraudulent redirection, imposter orders and label changes

    “retrieved at a point other than the original consigned delivery point pursuant to any instruction or representation to the transport carrier by a fraudster or imposter;”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.12.3 item 17
  • Consequential losses (loss of market, depreciation)

    “The Program provides no protection for delay in transit or for consequential or indirect losses.”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.12
  • Motorized vehicles: total loss only (FPA)

    “motorized vehicles are only eligible for "Free of Particular Average" or "FPA" coverage, meaning that only the risk of total loss is covered in most instances”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.11
  • Senders outside the US and non-US-origin shipments; listed destination countries

    “Shipments must originate from the United States of America and you (the End User) must be located within the United States of America.”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · Excluded Goods and Shipments
  • Business shippers: contents unrelated to the business

    “With respect to any End User that elects to participate in the Program for a business purpose, shipments with contents unrelated to such business purpose will not be protected under any Policy regardless of commodity type.”
    Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture · s.3

How and when claims pay

Pirate Ship says buying InsureShield on Pirate Ship cancels the carrier's built-in $100 USPS/UPS coverage on that shipment, so you must declare the full value. You must also follow the carrier's shipping terms.

“Purchasing InsureShield coverage on Pirate Ship nullifies any underlying carrier protection on a shipment. In other words, you need to either choose InsureShield or stick with built-in carrier liability”
Pirate Ship insurance overview: primary webpage text capture · You can't supplement third-party insurance

Deadlines

Payment time

Not stated in the terms. Pirate Ship's claims help says InsureShield 'typically pays many claims within a matter of days' once all documents are in.

“InsureShield typically pays many claims within a matter of days, as long as you have provided all the required documents and evidence to support your claim.”
Pirate Ship InsureShield claims: primary webpage text capture · FAQ: How long does the claim process take?

What we couldn't confirm

  • The underlying cargo policies and the commodity schedule are not public (the terms say the policies control).
  • The insurer is not named.
  • The terms were captured as a labelled web-text extraction, not the original HTML.
  • The linked article on rare items and collectibles is not in our library.
  • The filing deadline for concealed damage conflicts. The InsureShield terms say 30 days from delivery. Pirate Ship's claims help says 90 days and claims to follow those terms. The terms say the underlying policy controls, and it is not public, so the safer reading is 30 days.
  • Porch theft is described as covered only in Pirate Ship's help and marketing pages, which also say InsureShield 'protects you from anything that can happen'. The terms list many exclusions and end protection at delivery.
  • The terms say 'Ground shipments are eligible for protection under the Program'. Our review notes it is unclear whether this rules out air parcel services, which Pirate Ship still sells.
  • Used goods: a 2020 court opinion about a 2018 policy (Murray v. UPS Capital Ins. Agency, Cal. Ct. App. G058353) describes an older UPS Capital house policy that insured used goods for total loss only (FPA). The current terms indicate that the current terms value used goods at actual cash value plus freight, with a cosmetic/derangement exclusion, not FPA. The 2018 policy is not shown to be this program.
  • The terms say the policies may set different terms, limits, deductibles and fees by commodity type. The commodity schedule has not been seen.
  • No deductible amount is published; the terms only say payment is 'less any applicable deductible'.
  • The excluded-countries list 'is subject to change depending on government restrictions, geopolitical events, embargos, etc.'
  • Disputes go to individual AAA arbitration under Georgia law, with a class-action waiver; small-claims court remains available.

Frequently asked questions

Does Pirate Ship insurance cover porch theft?

Pirate Ship's help pages say yes and give 90 days from the delivery date to file. The InsureShield terms say protection ends at delivery and do not mention porch theft, and the policy is not public, so this is unconfirmed in the binding text.

How much is Pirate Ship insurance?

$1.00 for every $100 of declared value, domestic or international. Amounts are charged in $100 steps, so insuring $150 costs $2.00.

What is the maximum I can insure on Pirate Ship?

$10,000 per UPS shipment and $5,000 per USPS shipment. Pirate Ship's help sets $2,500 for international shipments and $400 for First Class Package International and Simple Export Rate packages of 4 lb and under.

Can I combine InsureShield with the free $100 USPS or UPS coverage?

No. Pirate Ship says buying InsureShield cancels the carrier's built-in coverage on that shipment, so declare the full value.

Does Pirate Ship insurance cover jewelry?

The terms say jewelry items are not excluded. Loose precious stones, cash, bullion and stamps are excluded. The terms set no signature rule, but the policies may apply different terms by commodity.

How long do I have to file an InsureShield claim from Pirate Ship?

The terms say concealed loss or damage within 30 days of delivery, and all other claims within 9 months. Pirate Ship's help page says 90 days for concealed damage and porch theft; the terms are the safer guide.

Sources

  1. Pirate Ship InsureShield terms: primary webpage text capture partner_terms · September 17, 2026
  2. Pirate Ship insurance overview: primary webpage text capture marketing · page dated September 14, 2026; retrieved 2026-10-31
  3. Pirate Ship InsureShield claims: primary webpage text capture help · retrieved 2026-10-31

Insurrl doesn't sell insurance and isn't paid by any insurer. This page summarizes published wording; your own certificate, schedule, or account terms can change the result.

Check your Pirate Ship cover against what you sell.

Tell us what you ship and how you insure it. We’ll show you the gaps, quoted from your policy.