UPS Capital InsureShield

What it covers, what it excludes, and how claims pay. Quoted from the wording.

Wording reviewed October 2026 · 12 sources

Quick answer

InsureShield is shipping insurance arranged by UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc. and underwritten by an insurer that US pages call only "an authorized insurance company". Current InsureShield pages advertise cover for loss, damage and porch piracy with any carrier, but the policy that sets the real terms is not public. The only detailed public wording is the 2022 Shopify terms: they exclude jewelry, precious stones and fine art, cap cover at $20,000, and give 90 days for concealed damage and nine months for other claims.

Insurrl score

—/5

How we score
  • Wording you can read Partner terms only; policy not public
  • Who carries the risk Insurer not named in the wording
  • Porch theft Not stated in the wording
  • High-value goods Not stated in the wording
  • Pays without the carrier Not stated in the wording
  • Claim rules Deadlines stated, payment time not

At a glance

Sold by
UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc. (UPSCIA), a licensed insurance producer, sells InsureShield. InsureShield comes in five variants: (1) the 2022 public Shopify terms (a historical record); (2) the current InsureShield app for Shopify; (3) InsureShield Connect, a direct policy you link by platform, API or file upload; (4) special commodities such as food, wine and spirits; and (5) Automatic Coverage, where all your UPS small packages get a set dollar amount of cover. Each variant runs on its own policy. Terms from one variant should not be assumed to apply to another.
Claims handled by
UPSCIA arranges the cover and acts as your broker or agent of record. Claims are filed through InsureShield's online claims process. Our review does not show who adjusts claims for the insurer.
Risk carried by
Insurer not named in the wording
Max per parcel
Depends on the variant: $20,000 per conveyance or occurrence (2022 Shopify terms); up to $70,000 on UPS Next Day Air and $50,000 on other UPS packages unless your declarations page says otherwise (April 2023 Automatic Coverage FAQ); for the current Shopify app, the maximum is shown at account setup.
Pays out on
2022 Shopify terms: the final price your customer paid plus freight, capped at the lesser of verified value or the amount declared, less any deductible. A co-insurance penalty applies if you under-declare. Current pages: invoice value plus shipping.
Relationship to carrier
Not clear from the wording
Wording available
Partner terms only

US pages never name the insurer. A 2020 California court opinion names Tokio Marine America for a 2018 UPS Capital house policy, but that shows only that year's insurer. The Canadian terms name AIG Insurance Company of Canada, which does not apply to US shipments. UPSCIA says it is not an insurance company.

“Insurance coverage is underwritten by an authorized insurance company and offered through UPS Capital Insurance Agency, Inc., a licensed insurance producer.”
InsureShield product disclosure · InsureShield Product Disclosure para 1

Does UPS Capital InsureShield cover porch theft?

Current InsureShield pages list porch piracy as covered, but the policy conditions are not public. The 2022 Shopify terms end cover at delivery to the final destination.

“Coverage for loss and damage as well as theft protection for losses discovered after delivery, also known as porch piracy”
InsureShield Shopify app help and support · FAQ: What is my coverage?

Jewelry, watches, laptops, and phones

The 2022 Shopify terms exclude precious stones, fine art and jewelry, but add that commodity-specific terms may apply. The current Shopify app help page excludes cell phones and precious metals and does not list jewelry. Our review does not say how watches or laptops are treated.

“stamps; cash; currency; money; coins; deeds; notes; securities; bills; evidence of debt; precious stones; and fine arts and jewelry. Commodity-specific coverage terms may apply.”
Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(d)

What it excludes

  • Delay, and consequential or indirect loss

    “The Policy provides no coverage for delay in transit or for consequential or indirect losses.”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10
  • Temperature variation (standard program; the special-commodities program advertises cover for this)

    “temperature variation, whether or not caused by an insured peril;”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(e)
  • Inherent vice

    “inherent vice;”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(e)
  • Packages redirected or sent because of a fraudster or imposter

    “a shipment of cargo being re-routed, stopped in transit or retrieved at a point other than the original consigned delivery point pursuant to any instruction or representation to the transport carrier by a fraudster or imposter;”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(e)
  • Cosmetic damage and electrical or mechanical derangement to used goods

    “rust, oxidation, discoloration, scratching, marring, denting, chipping and/or electrical or mechanical derangement to used goods, whether or not caused by an insured peril;”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(e)
  • Improper packing by you

    “improper, inadequate or otherwise unsuitable packing or preparation of the cargo, provided this exclusion will not apply to the extent that: (i) such packing or preparation was carried out by a third party other than you”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(e)
  • Seizure by a public authority

    “capture, seizure, arrest or detainment of goods by public authority;”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(e)
  • Personal shipments, or contents unrelated to your business

    “No personal shipments or shipments with contents unrelated to Your business or organizational purpose will be protected under any Policy regardless of commodity type.”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.4
  • Shipments that would breach US sanctions

    “coverage will be null and void whenever it (or any related payment or other transaction) would be in violation of any U.S. economic or trade sanctions”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.8
  • Excluded commodities, such as cash, coins, stamps, live animals and plants, fireworks and bullion (2022 Shopify list)

    “…fireworks, explosive agents, fire-starting devices or aids; live plants, animals and insects, human tissues or organs, human remains, corpses or body parts; bullion”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.10(d)

How and when claims pay

Marketing says any carrier can be covered, and the 2022 Shopify terms make following the carrier's shipping rules a condition of cover. No public wording says whether InsureShield pays first or only above the carrier's liability. With Automatic Coverage, you buy higher cover through the UPS declared-value field.

“No matter who you ship with, you're covered.”
InsureShield App for Shopify | InsureShield · Features & Benefits

Deadlines

  • 2022 Shopify terms: your customer must tell you within 5 business days of delivery, and you must report to UPSCIA within 10 business days of that notice.

    “Customers are required to provide notice of loss or damage to You within 5 business days of the date of delivery and, pursuant to Section 5(l)(iv), You must report the loss or damage to UPSCIA within 10 business days of the date of the notice of loss or damage from Your Customer to You.”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.11
  • 2022 Shopify terms: file concealed loss or damage claims within 90 days of delivery and all other claims within nine months of delivery. For non-delivery, the clock starts on the scheduled or reasonable delivery date.

    “claims must in all events be submitted in writing within the following timeframes: (i) in the event of a claim for concealed loss or damage, within 90 days from the date of delivery; or (ii) for all other claims, within nine months from the date of delivery.”
    Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield · s.11
  • Current Shopify app help page: a 9-month claim window, with 90 days for concealed damage.

    “Extended claims filing with a 9-month window and 90 days for concealed damages”
    InsureShield Shopify app help and support · FAQ: What is my coverage?
  • Current claims page: file as soon as possible. If a carrier other than UPS moved the package, notify that carrier immediately.

    “If you experience a loss or damage, you must file a claim as soon as possible.”
    InsureShield claims overview · FAQ: When should I report a claim?

Payment time

Typically 'within a matter of days' once all required documents are in (claims help page; this is not a contractual deadline).

“We typically pay claims within a matter of days assuming all required documents have been provided to support your claim.”
InsureShield claims overview · FAQ: How long does the claim process take?

What changed recently

What we couldn't confirm

  • No issued policy, declarations page, schedule or certificate is public for any US variant.
  • The US insurer is not named.
  • Commodity schedules, deductibles and sublimits for Connect, special commodities and the current Shopify app are not public.
  • Current porch-piracy and reshipment policy wording was not retrieved; those features come from help and marketing pages.
  • The 2022 Shopify terms are a dated record. Our review does not treat them as the current Connect, special-commodities or Shopify app contract.
  • Used goods: in a 2018 house policy described in a court opinion, UPS Capital insured used items for total loss only (FPA). The 2022 Shopify terms apply FPA only to motorized vehicles and exclude cosmetic damage to used goods. Our review does not know which rule the current policies use.
  • Deductible: the only dollar amount found is a $100 deductible in the 2018 application. Current public terms say 'less any applicable deductible' without an amount.
  • Declared value: a 2018 UPS Capital e-mail told shippers to leave UPS declared-value fields blank. The 2023 Automatic Coverage guide uses the declared-value field to buy cover. These are different products and eras.
  • Concealed damage appears as an optional extra on the general help page, but as included on the Shopify app page.
  • The 2022 Shopify terms let merchants offer cover to customers at checkout. The 2023 agency terms for direct policyholders say you may not offer cover to anyone else.
  • The 'expedited reshipping up to 20%' footnote on the 2022 terms page may come from the current page template, not the 2022 terms.
  • Live plants are excluded on the standard lists, but the special-commodities page features a bonsai shipper. Special-commodity terms are not public.
  • Governing law differs by document: Georgia for the agency and Shopify terms, New York for the Technology Agreement.
  • Canadian InsureShield terms name AIG Insurance Company of Canada. This does not identify the US insurer.
  • No signature requirement was found in the public US InsureShield wording.

Frequently asked questions

Does UPS Capital InsureShield cover porch theft?

Current InsureShield pages say cover includes porch piracy, i.e. theft discovered after delivery. The policy conditions behind that promise are not public. The older 2022 Shopify terms end cover at delivery.

Does InsureShield cover jewelry?

The 2022 Shopify terms exclude precious stones, fine art and jewelry, but say commodity-specific terms may apply. The current Shopify app help page does not list jewelry, but it does exclude cell phones and precious metals. Check your own policy.

How long do I have to file an InsureShield claim?

Under the 2022 Shopify terms: 90 days from delivery for concealed damage and nine months for other claims. Your customer must tell you within 5 business days, and you must report to UPS Capital within 10 business days of that notice. The current Shopify app page also gives 9 months, and 90 days for concealed damage.

Who is the insurance company behind InsureShield?

US pages say only 'an authorized insurance company'. A court record names Tokio Marine America for a 2018 house policy, and Canadian terms name AIG Insurance Company of Canada. Neither identifies the current US insurer.

What is the maximum InsureShield coverage per package?

It depends on the variant: $20,000 under the 2022 Shopify terms; up to $70,000 on UPS Next Day Air and $50,000 on other UPS packages under the 2023 Automatic Coverage FAQ, unless your declarations page says otherwise. The current Shopify app shows your maximum at setup, and orders above it are not insured.

How fast does InsureShield pay claims?

The claims page says claims are typically paid within a matter of days once all required documents are in. Our review found no contractual payment deadline.

Sources

  1. Shopify Terms & Conditions | InsureShield partner_terms · Last updated May 31, 2022
  2. InsureShield claims overview help · Retrieved 2026-10-31
  3. InsureShield Shopify app help and support help · Retrieved 2026-10-31
  4. InsureShield App for Shopify | InsureShield marketing · Accessed 2026-10-30
  5. Help & Support for InsureShield Shipping Insurance | InsureShield help · Accessed 2026-10-30
  6. UPS Capital Insurance Agency terms of service partner_terms · Last updated December 14, 2023
  7. InsureShield product disclosure help · Retrieved 2026-10-31; undated
  8. InsureShield for UPS Packages FAQ — Automatic Coverage distinction marketing · Print mark 04/23
  9. InsureShield UPS Shipments public product page marketing · Retrieved 2026-10-31
  10. How Automatic Coverage Works marketing · Undated; retrieved 2026-10-31
  11. Murray v. UPS Capital Ins. Agency Inc. (Cal. Ct. App. G058353; 54 Cal.App.5th 628) certificate · Court opinion filed 2020-09-11, quoting a March 2018 certificate (historical)
  12. UPS Capital Canada Insurance Brokers Limited - Terms and Conditions of Service partner_terms · Last updated July 17, 2024 (Canada only)

Insurrl doesn't sell insurance and isn't paid by any insurer. This page summarizes published wording; your own certificate, schedule, or account terms can change the result.

Check your UPS Capital InsureShield cover against what you sell.

Tell us what you ship and how you insure it. We’ll show you the gaps, quoted from your policy.